West Point Grad News

Boyd '89 Promoted to Brigadier General

Boyd '89 Promoted to Brigadier GeneralU.S. Army Reserve Colonel Tina Boyd, chief of staff, 335th Signal Command (Theater) was promoted to Brigadier General during a ceremony at Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, Georgia, January 13, 2019. Boyd, an alumna of Georgia Tech pinned on the one-star insignia during a promotion ceremony held at the university.

Photo by Captain David Gasperson

Greene '70 Releases "College Prep for Musicians"

Greene '70 Releases "College Prep for Musicians"Don Greene has recently released the book: College Prep for Musicians: A Comprehensive Guide for Students, Parents, Teachers, and Counselors is a one-of-a-kind book that gives a complete picture of the process of applying to music schools. Each of the three authors brings a different perspective and background to the subject, from top conservatory admissions experience, to years of teaching and professional performing, to Olympic coaching and audition preparation.

College Prep for Musicians decodes the complex process of choosing schools, clarifies the vocabulary around the admission process, and shows students exactly how to prepare their best audition. Young musicians will be able to follow detailed plans to get organized and to communicate with music schools and conservatories. This book provides tools, teaches habits, and demonstrates skills that students can use for the rest of their careers. College Prep for Musicians will help young musicians achieve their dreams. Available at Amazon.

Class Notes Updates This Week

West Point Class NotesThe following classes have added updates this week to their Class Notes pages. 1956 | 1959| 1962 | 1965 | 1970 | 1972 | 1973 | 1994 | 1995. Class Notes

Bailey '72 Named Lawyer of the Year

Gene Bailey named 2019 Best Lawyers "Lawyer of the Year" for Construction Law in the Charleston-WV area. Only a single lawyer in each practice area and designated metropolitan area is honored as the "Lawyer of the Year," making this accolade particularly significant. These lawyers are selected based on particularly impressive voting averages received during the peer review assessments.

Receiving this designation reflects the high level of respect a lawyer has earned among other leading lawyers in the same communities and the same practice areas for their abilities, their professionalism, and their integrity.

Wilkerson '73 Returning to Iraq as Guest Professor

Dr. Rick Wilkerson, a highly regarded orthopedic surgeon and sports medicine practitioner, will be traveling to Basra, Iraq on February 25th as a guest lecturer and teaching professor for nine days as part of Iraq's International Orthopedic Conference. In addition to his lecturing schedule, Dr. Wilkerson will be heavily involved in an on-going training program for Iraqi orthopedic residents.

Rick has made annual trips to Iraq where among many things, he created a total knee replacement (TKA) program for Iraqi orthopedic residents. So far, this has led to more than 1,500 TKAs performed. He also sponsored eight Iraqi orthopedic surgeons in his private practice for postgraduate training. During their time in the U.S., these surgeons lived with Rick and his family. For this type of work involving significant improvements to the Iraqi orthopedic infrastructure for well over a decade, Rick was named an honorary professor of orthopedic surgery at the University of Basra in Iraq.

Patterned after the Iraqi resident sponsorship program, Rick recently created an orthopedic residency rotation for Haitian orthopedic residents to spend three months in their second or third year of four years training to do an orthopedic rotation with him and other American volunteer surgeons starting September 19th, 2019. In preparation for the rotations, he's busy travelling to Haiti to train hospital staff surgeons to be able to thoroughly prepare the residents for the U.S. rotations.

Haiti is also where Rick led an effort to create an orphanage from the rubble of the 2010 earthquake that totally devastated an already deeply impoverished nation. Today the orphanage is thriving and well on the way to becoming self-sustaining.

Clouatre '95 Promoted to Colonel

Clouatre '95 Promoted to ColonelCongratulations to Colonel Spencer Clouatre and family on his promotion! COL Chris Cerniauskas '93 did his promotion. He is a longtime friend of the family. Also at the promotion was COL(R) Larry Horacek '70, who introduced COL Clouatre to West Point as an idea when he was a SGT in Louisiana National Guard. COL Horacek is also Caleb Clouatre's '20 50-year affiliate class. COL Clouatre graduated right in the middle as class of '95.

CathWorks Names Kapsner '86 as Vice-President of Sales

Paul KapsnerCathWorks announced that Paul Kapsner has been named as Global Vice President of Sales. His initial focus will be on accelerating the clinical and commercial organization in the United States. Paul joins CathWorks with 27 years of commercial sales and marketing leadership experience in market-leading medical device companies. That experience includes deep engagement in the coronary diagnostic market.

Jim Corbett, CathWorks CEO, said of Paul’s appointment, "I have worked with Paul previously and am confident in his ability to develop and lead our commercial sales and customer support organization. CathWorks FFRangio System represents a tremendous opportunity for interventional cardiologists, their hospitals, and patients to improve the quality of care and lower costs in the treatment of multi-vessel coronary artery disease. Paul understands how to develop a team to provide the clinical and technical support our customers need. We could not be more excited to have Paul on board." Read More

Clouse ’90 Named CEO of Campbell Soup

Campbell Soup Company named Mark Clouse CEO. Clouse has a reputation as a seasoned food industry operator. He was previously the CEO of Pinnacle Foods. Clouse began working in the food industry more than two decades ago. He had been chief growth officer at Oreo-maker Mondelez International Inc and previously worked in marketing at Kraft Heinz Co.

"Mark was the board's top choice due to his success leading organizations through significant transformations," Campbell said in a statement, adding that Third Point provided input into the CEO search process and supported Clouse's appointment. Read More